Skip to content

Great Maple, Libations and Seasonal Plates – Newport Beach, CA USA ☆☆☆☆☆

April 23, 2012

Great Maple is indeed a new favorite of mine amongst all eateries within or immediately surrounding the confines of Fashion Island. Their seasonal plates are created using farm fresh produce which makes for exceptionally delicious cuisine; Emphasis placed on the Healdsburg salad, creamy polenta small plate (minus pancetta for me) and market soup of the day (all of which have been outstanding so far, especially the butternut carrot and spinach soups). Seafood dishes are prepared to perfection and the Spicy Grilled Shrimp Prawn starter is positively piquant in its distinct flavor, somewhat reminiscent of my south of the U.S. border culinary experiences. Complimentary hot bread and sea salted, herb infused butter make for a magnificent addition to the experience. One note: It would be nice if gluten free items were available amongst the array of menu selections.

A diverse range of imaginative cocktails, many of which utilizing organic juices and liquors are available for those of us seeking a refreshing spirit or two. As much as I love organically grown anything, I’m not sure if something as toxic to the human body as liquor will benefit from certified pesticide-free ingredients. Does it reduce hangover intensity? Feel free to knock a few organic tequilas back and inform me as to whether there is a difference.

On top of the delicious food, you’ll typically spend far less time waiting hungrily for your table than a few other favorites such as R&D and True Foods. We’re always warmly greeted by the manager (or owner, will have to find out) at some point during our lunch which adds to the overall charm.

The inevitable cessation of our meal always results in prompt table clearing by friendly bus staff, followed by our bill shortly thereafter. I for one can thoroughly appreciate this. When any restaurant claims to be at all European, I immediately visualize wait staff neglecting me post initial seating process and sedately returning every thirty minutes or so. Did that make any sense? I really am trying to put it lightly that I don’t find slow service admirable. They may serve European dishes, but the service is far superior to much of what you’ll experience in Europe. Do ignore this aspect of my review if you are one who relishes a relaxing, laid back approach from your inattentive waiter; I do know that a lazy afternoon of conversation works for many.

Please eat here. Hope to see you there amongst the merry glut of organic liquor enthusiasts.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2012 6:06 pm

    Thanks for introducing me to the Great Maple in Newport. Ambiance and service complimented the delicious fare.

  2. April 24, 2012 8:38 am

    Just swinging through and repaying the visit to everyone who stopped by my blog for my Stallone/Schwarzenegger poll… 😀

    Your blog is really nice, love the pics. Especially the flash ones at the bottom of each post or however you got them to change, that’s awesome! Very attention grabbing!

    • April 24, 2012 8:52 am

      Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m glad you can appreciate my sideshows… Have a lovely week and do visit again soon. 🙂

  3. sanclementejedi permalink
    April 26, 2012 8:39 am

    Hey Heather, that looks like it might be worth a little drive up the coast. Enjoyed checking out your blog. 🙂

    • April 26, 2012 9:36 pm

      I certainly feel that it’s worth it… Especially if you have any shopping to do, it is most convenient:) Thanks for visiting my blog, do come again soon!

  4. April 29, 2012 3:23 pm

    I am not sure if I want to drive out to SoCal for dinner, but I might just have to run in for dinner the next time I get into the Inland Empire.

    Wayne

  5. March 7, 2013 7:47 am

    Hi there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a
    team of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a wonderful job!

Leave a Reply

